Experts Guide

Hot Topics

Looking for a legal expert for one of today's pressing issues? See below for an up-to-date list of experts with links to recent media appearances and scholarship.

Affordable Care Act, Health Care Reform

Prof. Tim Jost, Emeritus (jostt@wlu.edu)
Health Affairs Blog


War Crimes, Atrocity, International Law

Prof. Mark Drumbl (drumblm@wlu.edu)
Feature, Unpacking the Resiliency of the Human Spirit, W&L Law


Big Data, Online Privacy, Digital Property

Prof. Joshua Fairfield (fairfieldj@wlu.edu)
Recent Commentary, Why the 'Internet of Things' Marks a Return to the Middle Ages, Newsweek


Cybersurveillance, Edward Snowden

Prof. Margaret Hu (hum@wlu.edu)
Article, Biometric ID Cybersurveillance, Indiana Law Journal

Prof. Russell Miller (millerra@wlu.edu)
Article, Testimony on NSA Affair for German Parliament, W&L Law


Death Penalty, Capital Defense

Prof. David Bruck (bruckd@wlu.edu)

Prof. John Shapiro (shapiroj@wlu.edu)
Interview, Tsarnaev Defense Attorney Has Long History With High-Profile Cases, NPR-All  Things Considered


Immigration Reform, Asylum

Prof. David Baluarte (baluarted@wlu.edu)
Article, Next Steps for DACA and the Dreamers, W&L Law


Corporate Political Speech, Corporate Law

Prof. Sarah Haan (haans@wlu.edu)
Commentary, The Coming Trump Slump, U.S. News and World Report


Election Law

Prof. Chris Seaman (seamanc@wlu.edu)
Commentary, The Harmful Myth of Voter Fraud, Roanoke Times


Media Relations Contact

Peter Jetton (pjetton@wlu.edu, 540-461-1326)