Washington and Lee University School of Law Logo

Washington and Lee University School of Law

Make Each Year Count Washington and Lee University School of Law
image of jusice lewis powell
scholarly commons at w&l law

Borrowing and Interlibrary Loan for Students

Borrowing

Law students may check out the Law Library's circulating meterials by using any of the self-checkout terminals located on the third floor at the Circulation Desk or on either level of the stacks. Materials may also be checked out at the Circulation Desk by a library assistant. Students may renew materials online unless the materials have been requested by another patron or have been renewed twice. Students with overdue items may not check out additional materials. Circulation periods vary depending upon the resource. In general, the categories of resources and their loan periods are:

 

Unbound periodicals & Stacks - 3 weeks

Reading Room, Escape Hatch, Court Reports & Periodicals - 7 days

Closed reserve - 4 hours

Open reserve - 48 hours

Audio/Visual - 48 hours

Non-Circulating - rare book room; reference; current magazines

 

Interlibrary Loan Requests

 
 Interlibrary Loan: Book
 Interlibrary Loan: Book Chapter
 Interlibrary Loan: Journal Article, Case, etc.

 

 

Fees for lost and excessively overdue materials

Circulating Books in the General Collection and Escape Hatch
First to Third Notices - Fines are waived if material is returned within 21 days of the original due date ("the Grace Period").

Upon the expiration of the Grace Period, accrued fines (50 cents per day) retroactive to the original due date are owed.

A Final Notice is issued after the expiration of the Grace Period plus 7 days at which point accrued fines plus the actual replacement cost of the material are due. 
   
Open Reserve, Closed Reserve, and Audio/Videotapes & DVDs (except Escape Hatch Videos/DVDs)
Fines are waived if material is returned within 24 hours of the original due date ("the Grace Period").

Upon the expiration of the Grace Period, accrued fines ($1.00 per hour) retroactive to the original due date are owed.

A Final Notice is issued after the expiration of the Grace Period plus 24 hours at which point accrued fines plus the actual replacement cost of the material are due.