Lewis Prize for Excellence in Legal Scholarship

Each year since 2013 the Frances Lewis Law Center has awarded the Lewis Prize for Excellence in Legal Scholarship to two members of the Washington and Lee University School of Law faculty to celebrate outstanding contributions to legal scholarship in their respective fields that were supported by Law Center summer grants.  These awards recognize works that are of the highest quality and are aimed at, or likely to have an impact on, improving the law or the administration of justice. 

Recipients of the Lewis Prize have included:  


Carliss Chatman, for her scholarly work in a variety of fields, including business law, corporate law, and ethics.

Brandon Hasbrouck, for his scholarly contributions in the areas of criminal law and racial justice.


J.D. King, for scholarly contributions in the field of criminal law and procedure

Doug Rendleman, for his decades-long scholarship and leadership in the field of remedies, and recent work on nationwide injunctions


Sarah Haan, for scholarly contributions on numerous issues at the intersection of business law and politics, including corporate political speech, campaign finance disclosure, and the First Amendment

Margaret Hu, for scholarship in the areas of constitutional law, data privacy, and civil rights


Josh Fairfield, for his new book on the intersection of law and technology, Owned: Property, Privacy, and the New Digital Serfdom.

Jill Fraley, for scholarship on numerous aspects of property law


Michelle Drumbl, for her continuing series of outstanding contributions in the area of tax administration and tax policy  

Russell Miller, for his continuing series of outstanding contributions in the area of comparative privacy and intelligence oversight


Mark Drumbl, for his continuing series of outstanding contributions in the area of international criminal law  

Margaret Hu, for her article titled Big Data Due Process   


Kish Parella, for her article titled Transcommercial Institutional Legitimacy  

Victoria Sahani, for her article titled Harmonizing Third-Party Litigation Funding Regulation  


Erik Luna and Josh Fairfield, for their article titled Digital Innocence  

Susan Franck, for her forthcoming book on investment treaty arbitration, as well as for producing two articles related to investor-State mediation